Eduction for the Ministry


EfM is a four-year programme of study and reflection. The EfM programme covers the range of the Christian tradition from the earliest period to the present.

Year 1: The Hebrew Scriptures (Old Testament)
Year 2: The New Testament
Year 3: Church History
Year 4: Theology, Ethics, and Inter-faith Encounter

In New Zealand, the EfM programme also includes a unit which focuses on The History of the Church in Aotearoa New Zealand.

Each year of the EfM programme covers 36 sessions, framed into five units of study, as well as two “interludes” in which participants in all years of the EfM programme read a common text. A four-year cycle of Reading and Reflection Guides (RRG) provides the framework for each year of study, guiding participants through their reading with questions and reflections to stimulate their study and thinking, and to guide their group discussion.

Each volume of the Reading and Reflection Guides focuses on a particular theme:

Volume A: Living Faithfully in Your World
Volume B: Living Faithfully in a Multicultural World
Volume C: Living as Spiritually Mature Christians
Volume D: Living into the Journey with God

Click here to see an extract from Volume A.